My mom ~ “I think I’ll just move in!”

Well, after the emergency trip to Alabama, my mom decided to stay with us for a couple days.  A couple days turned into a week, and a week turned into a week-and-a-half.  I started getting nervous.  She’s done this once before and stayed for an entire month! But she packed up today (day 9) and headed home.  In all actuality, I was really happy to have her here for a bit, and she really seemed to need the break.  I love having people come visit.  We live in an amazing little island community, and it is always fun to take family and friends out to show them around.  Plus, it’s always a good excuse for us to act like tourists for a little bit and splurge where we usually wouldn’t.  It’s easy to get caught up in all the work-school-sports-run around, that we really don’t take the time to enjoy the things around us.  Having people come visit, sometimes helps us pull back for a bit.  Which, is honestly a good thing.

In between the hustle and bustle of normal family life we added several meals out, a trip to the beach, downtown shopping, a bbq party at my aunt’s house, and a few other fun adventures.  I need to get in a better habit of taking pictures, all of those memories and I don’t think I took a single photo  Luckily my mom did though.  I just wish I had gotten more.

The beach was amazing.  It’s been our first really warm week, so even though the water is still too cold to get in just yet, it was really nice simply to get out and walk around.  As an added bonus, mom managed to pick up her first shark tooth along the way.

Amelia Beach

We decided to go out for lunch one afternoon, just her and I.  There is a relatively new restaurant in town called The Patio Place, that I’ve been wanting to try for awhile now.  Omg.  It was amazing.  I think the two of us might have just begun a new tradition for each time she comes to visit.  They have an outdoor patio/garden that is absolutely adorable with plush patio furniture or chairs with umbrella tables if you prefer.  There are even fire pits for when it is cold outside.  We each ordered wine and shared a platter of meats, cheeses, baguettes, nuts, honey, and fresh apple slices.  It was incredibly relaxing and peaceful, and the food paired perfectly with our wines.  My mom who NEVER orders dessert insisted that we get something, so we shared a key lime crepe.  It definitely didn’t disappoint.  Afterwards, we walked around the downtown are and checked out all the little shops. I must say, it was the highlight of everything we did together that week. Best mom-daughter date ever.

While here, mom decided to do some house hunting because she does actually want to move closer.  We decided to go explore St. Mary’s Island, which isn’t far from where I live.  It’s been on my list of places to go check out for awhile now, so I was looking forward to the trip.  It’s very different from Amelia Island.  For starters, it was much quieter.  There seemed to be a lot less hustle and bustle, and less tourism in general.  But it was really quaint and cute.  It had it’s own character and feel to it.  The history there is really interesting and the buildings are all well preserved.  It honestly felt sorta like stepping back into the 1800’s.  There are a ton of antique shops I’m dying to get back to and explore sometime soon. The housing was much less expensive than where we currently live, and much more reasonably priced than I expected. It would fit her budget nicely. And quiet honestly, since the cost of living keeps increasing where I am at, I’m keeping it in mind for my own family.

I really, really wish I had taken some photos while there, but I promise to post them on my next trip which will hopefully be soon!

Leave a Reply

